World Series 2020: What You Need to Know About the Dodgers and Rays


When the MLB season was first postponed until the beginning of summer, fans feared the worst for the season and postseason. Thankfully, the teams returned and were able to play more games than anticipated. The idea of a postseason and World Series remained open-ended for a majority of the season due to the fact that the games would require teams to play others outside of their groups created before the season to limit contact. However, MLB officials gave the all clear for the postseason and World Series to go on as normal, with the addition of new safety precautions. This year, the Tampa Bay Rays and Los Angeles Dodgers faced off for the title of the 2020 World Champion.

On October 17, the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Houston Astros 4-2, winning the American League Champion and securing a spot in the World Series. This is the second time the Rays have made a World Series appearance, the first being in 2008. The team has never won the title, however, after losing to the Philadelphia Phillies. The team also won a division title in 2010, but ended their season within the first rounds of the postseason games. With the addition of manager Kevin Cash back in 2015, the team began to see improvements. Cash led the team to the Division Playoffs in 2019, but lost within five games. This year, the Rays grew their pitching staff to show better results on the mound after the struggles in 2019. Cash stated in a press conference earlier this year the team has a stronger outfield this year than in the past, which has definitely has proved to be beneficial this season.

As for the Dodgers, the National League Championship and place in the World Series came after a close series against the Atlanta Braves (4-3). The Dodgers were originally founded in 1883 in New York, and moved to LA in 1957. Overall, they have appeared nearly 24 times in the World Series (most recently in 2017 and 2018), and won the championship six times (1955, 1959, 1963, 1965, 1981, and 1988). A large portion of their success these past years have come from their pitchers. Clayton Kershaw, arguably one the best pitchers in MLB history, has continuously led the team to victory. Kershaw has won countless awards throughout his career and set National League records with his year-to-year strikeout. The team also has strong offensive players, such as Cody Bellinger and Justin Turner.

The World Series began on October 20, giving the Dodgers the lead after 8-3 victory. The following night, the Rays took the win with homeruns from Brandon Lowe in the first and fifth. Game 3 went to the Dodgers, with a 10-strikeout start from Walker Buhehler, as well as a homerun from Justin Turner. The Rays made a comeback in Game 4 only for the Dodgers to retake the lead in Game 5. On the night of October 27 (Game 6), the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-7 and the title of the 2020 World Champions, with homeruns from Justin Turner and Corey Seager (8th of the series), along with numerous on-base to bring in RBIs, and strong defensive plays on the outfield.   

With the Dodgers taking home the World Series trophy, the 2020 MLB season has officially come to an end. Even most of our teams did not make it as far as we hoped, it was still great to watch baseball this year. See you next season baseball fans!!

All information included in this story came directly from the MLB website as well as NBC Sports, FOX sports, and ESPN.